ضغط Gzip

صورة من iOS 3

تتيح لك عدة أنواع من ملفات وتطبيقات Gzip المتاحة اليوم ضغط محتوى HTTP قبل تقديمه إلى عميل ، ويتم استخدامها جميعا على أنظمة Unix و Unix. نتيجة لهذه العملية ، تم العثور على ملف يتقلص بنسبة تصل إلى 80 في المائة ، مما يؤدي إلى أوقات تحميل أسرع للصفحة ، واستهلاك أقل لعرض النطاق الترددي ، وانخفاض في النفقات العامة ل SSL.

يمكن استخدام الضغط قبل مغادرة المحتوى للخادم لتقليل حجم الملف لمعالجة هذه المشكلة. هناك طريقة ضغط قياسية تسمى Gzip ، والتي تستخدم على نطاق واسع من قبل خوادم الويب والمتصفحات والتطبيقات الأخرى للضغط السلس وتخفيف ضغط المحتوى أثناء نقله عبر الإنترنت. يمكنه تقليل حجم ملفات JavaScript و CSS و HTML بنسبة تصل إلى 90٪ باستخدام خوارزمية ضغط gzip ، المستخدمة بشكل أساسي مع الملفات البرمجية والنصية.

كيف يعمل Gzip؟

على الرغم من شعبية GZIP في الوقت الحاضر ، فإن نسبة ضغط الإصدار القياسي غالبا ما تكون أقل من نسبة ضغط Brotli ، مما يمثل تحسنا متواضعا مقارنة بالإصدار القياسي GZIP. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن اعتماد GZIP يتجه الآن ببطء نحو الانخفاض حيث تنتقل مواقع الويب إلى تقنيات أكثر حداثة من GZIP.

تأثير مستويات الضغط على استخدام الموارد

على عكس عمليات الضغط الأخرى ، يعتمد ضغط Gzip على وحدة المعالجة المركزية ولديه مجموعة متنوعة من مستويات الضغط للاختيار من بينها. كلما ارتفع مستوى الضغط ، كلما كان الملف أصغر ، ولكن كلما زاد وقت وحدة المعالجة المركزية. 

وتشير التقديرات إلى أن متوسط حجم صفحة الويب قد زاد بنحو 1.2 ميغابايت على مدى السنوات العشر الماضية. ونتيجة لذلك، أصبح من الضروري بشكل متزايد تطوير أساليب لتقديم كميات كبيرة من البيانات بسرعة وكفاءة مع زيادة مطالبنا بالمعلومات. 

متى يجب استخدام GZIP؟

توفر خوارزميات الضغط في GZIP مستوى مقبولا من الضغط للمحتوى الثابت والديناميكي ، وهي سريعة بما يكفي لتشغيلها على أي عميل / خادم عمليا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تعمل العديد من التقنيات المستخدمة اليوم بشكل جيد مع المحتوى الثابت ، مثل bz2 و xz و Brotli.

على الرغم من الانخفاض البطيء في دعم الويب ل GNU Zip ، إلا أنه لا يزال لديه العديد من الاستخدامات التي ستبقيه ذا صلة لسنوات عديدة. على سبيل المثال ، بغض النظر عن تقنيات الضغط الأحدث ، ستكون هناك دائما مفاضلة بين المعالجة من جانب الخادم ونسب الضغط من جانب العميل.

إذا كنت مهتما بقراءة المزيد من المقالات من هذا النوع ، فتحقق من Seahawk Media.

ابدأ مع Seahawk

اشترك في تطبيقنا لعرض أسعارنا والحصول على خصومات.

Gzip Compression

image from ios 3

Several types of Gzip files and applications available today let you compress HTTP content before it is served to a client, and these are all used on Unix and Unix-like systems. As a result of this process, a file has been found to shrink by as much as 80 percent, resulting in faster page loading times, less bandwidth consumption, and a reduction in SSL overhead.

Compression can be used before content leaves the server to reduce the file size to address this issue. There is a standard compression method called Gzip, which is widely used by web servers, browsers, and other applications for the seamless compression and decompression of content as it is transmitted over the Internet. It can reduce the size of JavaScript, CSS, and HTML files by up to 90% using the gzip compression algorithm, primarily used with code and text files.

How does Gzip work?

Despite GZIP’s popularity in the present day, the compression ratio of the standard version often falls short of the compression ratio of Brotli, representing a modest improvement over the GZIP standard version. Moreover, the adoption of GZIP is now slowly trending downward as websites are moving to more modern technologies than GZIP.

The Effect of Compression Levels on Resource Usage

Unlike other compression processes, Gzip compression depends on the CPU and has a variety of compression levels to choose from. The higher the compression level, the smaller the file, but the more CPU time it will take. 

It has been estimated that the average size of a web page has increased by almost 1.2 MB over the past ten years. As a result, it is becoming increasingly necessary to develop methods for quickly and efficiently delivering large quantities of data as our demands for information increase. 

When Should GZIP Be Used?

GZIP’s compression algorithms provide an acceptable level of compression for static and dynamic content, and they are speedy enough to run on practically any client/server. In addition, many technologies in use today work well with static content, such as bz2, xz, and Brotli.

Despite a slow decline in web support for GNU Zip, it still has many uses that will keep it relevant for many years. For example, regardless of newer compression technologies, there will always be a trade-off between server-side processing and client-side compression ratios.

If you are interested in reading more articles of this kind, check out Seahawk Media.

Get started with Seahawk

Sign up in our app to view our pricing and get discounts.